University Distinguished Professors

The purposes of the University Distinguished Professorships are 1) to confer honor upon faculty members for outstanding scholarship, and 2) to symbolize the continuing commitment of Colorado State University to the pursuit of excellence. Because University Distinguished Professors are a select group, nominations are not sought every year.

University Distinguished Teaching Scholars (UDTS)

Those faculty members appointed as University Distinguished Teaching Scholars have records of performance ranking them among the most outstanding teachers and educators in their disciplines, as reflected by their accomplishments as both scholar and teacher, lending talents and expertise to teaching-related projects and scholarship at Colorado State. Distinguished Teaching Scholars have received national and international acclaim in recognition of outstanding achievement. Because University Distinguished Teaching Scholars are a select group, nominations not sought every year.

Oliver P. Pennock Distinguished Service Award

Oliver P. Pennock Distinguished Service Awards recognize meritorious and outstanding achievement over a five-year period by full-time members of the academic faculty and administrative professional staff. The award program was established as a tribute to Professor Pennock, who served as a distinguished professor of Civil Engineering in the 1920’s.

Board of Governors Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award

The Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching is presented annually to a faculty member who stimulates the curiosity of students by motivating and challenging them. The award is sponsored by the Board of Governors of the Colorado State University System.

Jack E. Cermak Advising Award

Recognizes excellence in academic advising. Jack E. Cermak was a Professor in Civil Engineering who endowed this award because of his strong belief in the value of academic advising.

Monfort Professors

The Monfort Family Foundation established the Monfort Professors Program to support early career faculty at CSU with unrestricted support for advancing their research, teaching, and career.  Each year, two faculty members are selected as Monfort Professors by a committee appointed by the Provost.  They retain this designation for two years, and receive $100,000 in research support.

Provost’s Awards for Faculty Excellence

The Provost and the Council of Chairs are pleased to announce a series of annual awards to recognize the impact of research and teaching by early- to mid-career faculty deserving special acknowledgment at Colorado State University.

Kevin Ann Oltjenbruns Award for Outstanding Leadership

This award serves to highlight and reward the extraordinary efforts of truly outstanding CSU faculty and staff who through their leadership and mentoring/advising go above and beyond the standard expectations for employees with similar responsibilities.

N. Preston Davis Award for Instructional Innovation

This award recognition was instituted in 1992 upon the retirement of N. Preston Davis. Pres served the Colorado State University community creatively and loyally for over four decades. His contributions were many and focused on instructional innovation.

Community Engagement Scholarship Awards

The CSU Community Engagement Scholarship Awards, jointly established by the Office of the Provost and Office of Engagement, are conferred annually in recognition of exemplary engaged scholarship by CSU faculty or academic staff members and their community partner(s).

Program Overview and Nomination Form

Loren W. Crabtree Global Teaching Scholars – Semester at Sea

Program Information

Scholarship Impact Award

Vice President for Research

Interdisciplinary Research Scholar

Vice President for Research

Exceptional Achievement in Service-Learning Instruction Award

The Institute for Learning and Teaching

Service Learning Instructional Innovation Award

The Institute for Learning and Teaching

Classified Personnel Council Outstanding Achievement Award

Classified Personnel Council

Distinguished Administrative Professional Award

Administrative Professional Council