2024 Provost Award Recipients

February Nomination Deadlines

Board of Governors Excellence in Teaching Awards

The awards for Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching are presented annually to faculty members who stimulate the curiosity of students by motivating and challenging them. These awards are sponsored by the Board of Governors of the Colorado State University System.

Inclusive Excellence Award

The Inclusive Excellence Award is provided annually by the Office for Inclusive Excellence and the Office of the Provost/Executive Vice President to recognize faculty and staff who support a culture of inclusive excellence exemplified by Colorado State University’s Principles of Community. This award serves to highlight and reward faculty and staff who go above and beyond the standard expectations for employees with similar responsibilities.

Jack E. Cermak Advising Award

The Jack E. Cermak Advising Award recognizes excellence in academic advising. Jack E. Cermak was a Professor in Civil Engineering who endowed this award because of his strong belief in the value of academic advising.

Kevin Ann Oltjenbruns Award for Outstanding Leadership

This award serves to highlight and reward the extraordinary efforts of truly outstanding CSU faculty and staff who through their leadership and mentoring/advising go above and beyond the standard expectations for employees with similar responsibilities.

Monfort Professor

The Monfort Family Foundation established the Monfort Professors Program to support early-career faculty at CSU with unrestricted support for advancing their research, teaching, and career. Each year, a faculty member is selected as a Monfort Professor by a committee appointed by the Provost. They retain this designation for two years and receive $100,000 in research support.

N. Preston Davis Award for Instructional Innovation

This award recognition was instituted in 1992 upon the retirement of N. Preston Davis. Davis served the Colorado State University community creatively and loyally for over four decades. His contributions were many and focused on instructional innovation.

Oliver P. Pennock Distinguished Service Award

Oliver P. Pennock Distinguished Service Awards recognize meritorious and outstanding achievement over a five-year period by full-time members of the academic faculty, administrative professional staff, and state classified staff. The award program was established as a tribute to Professor Pennock, who served as a distinguished professor of Civil Engineering in the 1920s.

Provost’s Awards for Faculty Excellence

The Provost and Council of Chairs are pleased to invite nominations for a series of annual awards to recognize the impact of research and teaching by early- to mid-career CSU faculty especially deserving of special acknowledgment. The Provost’s Awards for Faculty Excellence consist of the Lincoln Laureate Award, 14’er Award, Provost Teaching Scholar, and Provost Research Scholar.

*The call for nominations for awards will be shared with the campus community in November each year, and the deadline for nominations is February 1.

Alternate Nomination Deadlines

University Distinguished Professors (UDP)

The highest academic recognition awarded by the University, the title of University Distinguished Professor is bestowed upon a small number of full professors at any one time on the basis of outstanding scholarship and achievement. Professors receiving this title hold the distinction for the duration of their association with Colorado State University.

The purposes of the University Distinguished Professorships are 1) to confer honor upon faculty members for outstanding scholarship and 2) to symbolize the continuing commitment of Colorado State University to the pursuit of excellence. Because University Distinguished Professors are a select group, nominations are not sought every year.

Nominations for UDP are not being accepted at this time.

University Distinguished Teaching Scholars (UDTS)

Those faculty members appointed as University Distinguished Teaching Scholars have records of performance ranking them among the most outstanding teachers and educators in their disciplines, as reflected by their accomplishments as both scholars and teachers, lending talents and expertise to teaching-related projects and scholarship at Colorado State. Distinguished Teaching Scholars have received national and international acclaim in recognition of outstanding achievement. Because University Distinguished Teaching Scholars are a select group, nominations are not sought every year.

Nominations for UDTS are not being accepted at this time.

Gordon and Joan Bishop Professorship

The Gordon and Joan Bishop Professorship is a Universitywide endowed professorship established by an anonymous donor who graduated from Colorado State University. The Bishop Professorship awards faculty in any discipline at CSU who demonstrate extraordinary contributions and excellence in all three areas of the university’s mission: teaching, research, and outreach/engagement. 

The next call for nominations is expected to be 2025.

Exceptional Achievement in Service Learning Awards

Community Engagement Scholarship Awards